Protect Your Driving Privileges And Your Future After A DUI Arrest In Georgia
Being stopped, tested and arrested on suspicion of driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs (DUI) is a frightening experience. It can also have devastating repercussions, such as a driver’s license suspension or revocation. To increase the likelihood of a successful defense against DUI charges, get a qualified defense lawyer on your case as soon as possible.
At Sexton & Moody, P.C., we fight to preserve evidence that may give our clients better case outcomes. When a law enforcement officer has confiscated someone’s driver’s license, our Henry County DUI attorneys schedule timely hearings with the Georgia Department of Driver Services in an effort to recover driving privileges for the defendant while the rest of their case is pending.
What Are Common Consequences For A First-Time DUI Offense?
If you refused chemical testing (blood, urine or breath testing), your driver’s license may be suspended for one year. However, if you did submit to testing and were found to be driving with alcohol or drugs in your body, your license – suspended for one year – may be reinstated after 120 days if you meet certain conditions. In certain circumstances, you may qualify for a limited permit.
Other penalties for a first-time DUI conviction in Georgia may include 12 months of probation, fines of $300 or more, and 24 hours to 10 days in jail.
What Are Common Consequences For A Repeat DUI Offense?
After a repeat DUI conviction, your penalties may include:
- Driver’s license suspension of one to five years
- Fines of $600 or more
- Three days to 12 months in jail
- Driver’s license revocation of one to five years
- Community service
- Ignition interlock device installation and use
- Drug or alcohol dependency treatment
Penalties are higher for a third offense than for a second offense.
What Are The Consequences Of An Underage DUI?
The threshold for a criminal charge is lower for drivers under the legal drinking age. Underage drivers with a BAC of between .02% and .08% will have their license suspended for six months, and drivers with a BAC of more than .08% or who refuse testing will have their license suspended for one year.
Even a first offense can have significant consequences for a young person. After a conviction, underage drivers could face:
- Between 24 hours and 12 months of jail time
- Fines of $300 or more
- Required community service
These penalties increase with repeated convictions.
What Happens To A Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) After A DUI?
A DUI conviction can have a particularly serious impact on commercial drivers. In addition to facing fines, license suspensions, jail time and other penalties, a DUI can also disqualify you from holding a CDL. A driver will lose their CDL for one year after a first conviction, and a second drunk driving conviction will lead to lifetime disqualification.
It is also important to remember that drivers face stricter laws when behind the vehicle of a commercial vehicle. While most drivers on the road have a BAC limit of .08%, commercial drivers can face DUI charges at a BAC of only .04%.
How Can You Reinstate Your License After A DUI In Georgia?
After a license suspension related to drunk driving, drivers must take steps to reinstate their driving privileges. First, they must complete all of the requirements related to their conviction, including completing any court-ordered treatment, paying fines and completing their probation. They must also pay a reinstatement fee.
What Are The Different Types Of DUI Offenses In Georgia?
Types of DUIs in Georgia include:
- “Less safe” driving while under the influence of alcohol or drugs, including prescription drugs and/or combinations of drugs
- “Per se” DUI, driving with .08% blood alcohol concentration (BAC) for an ordinary driver; or .04% for a commercial driver; or .02% for a driver under age 21
These are abbreviated descriptions of all types of DUIs in our state. Ask a defense attorney to determine what type your case involves and how to defend yourself.
When Can A DUI Be A Felony In Georgia?
A felony DUI may be:
- A fourth (or higher) DUI
- A DUI creating a pattern for a driver as a habitual violator (possibly including other serious traffic violations such as reckless driving)
- A DUI together with a collision resulting in serious injury or death to someone, including an unborn child
If a McDonough DUI lawyer from Sexton & Moody, P.C., represents you, they may look back at previous convictions to determine whether any of them could be challenged.
How Long Does A DUI Stay On A Record In Georgia?
In Georgia, a drunk driving charge stays on a person’s criminal record for the rest of their life. Any convictions within the past ten years will be considered during sentencing. Because a DUI will stay on your criminal record, it can be particularly important to seek experienced legal guidance when you face charges.
Protect Your Rights And Reclaim Your Future After A DUI Arrest
Was the traffic stop unjustified? Were chemical tests unreliable? Did the police use faulty logic when claiming that you were driving impaired? Your McDonough DUI attorney will review your case in pursuit of a workable defense.